Home » Uncategorized » How it Should Have Been Done!

How it Should Have Been Done!

Start here

As the school year comes to an end and summer vacation draws nearer,I start to look for warm weather activities to keep my daughter occupied. Because she is an only child, it is sometimes difficult to avoid the inevitable and often repeated phrase, “I’m bored.” As a result, her schedule is usually filled with craft classes, building workshops, gymnastics, movies, swimming classes,play dates, sleepovers, and trips to places like the Florida Aquarium and the Lowry Park Zoo. This year ( I have no idea where) I came across a postcard which offered an 8 week bowling camp for kids at the bowling alley a few blocks from our house. I was immediately interested, but because the bowling alley had failed to integrate its message, registering was time consuming and there were a lot of missed marketing opportunities.

For example, the postcard had camp dates and times, payment options, and some camp details but I needed further information about paying in full. The postcard did not provide the  website information so I looked it up, but there was even less information about the camp there. Finally, I called the bowling alley and found out that I had to go to the bowling to pay in full in advance. When I arrived at the bowling alley the next day, there was some confusion over how to accept an advanced payment. I paid the registration fee, tossed out the postcard, and forgot all about the situation, until last week when I came across an integrated marketing blog about a neighborhood bowling alley.

The blog entitled Integrated Marketing Done Right discussed how the authors local bowling alley had successfully integrated it summer bowling marketing messages. So what did they do better than my local alley? The company created a simple newspaper ad offering 2 free games of bowling for children all summer long. Those who wanted more information were directed  to its website. Consumers who visited the website registered with their e-mail and were provided links to Twitter and Facebook where they could “like” the offer. The bowling alley had successfully used print ads, online advertising, and social media to drive new  customers through the door and all for the price of only two games of bowling. In exchange the bowling alley got a weekly e-mail contact, revenue for the shoe rental, additional revenue for the games played by the accompanying adult, food sales, and the chance to build new lifelong customers. And that in my opinion is how it should have been done at my local bowling alley!

Leave a Reply

